16th Metro FM Awards

Metro FM’s Amon Mokoena and Pearl Modiadie, hosted the 16th Metro FM Awards.

The star-studded 2017 Metro FM awards were held in the Inkosi Luthuli Convention Centre on Saturday night in Durban. The ever so gorgeous Pearl Modiadie alongside her radio co-host Amon Mokeana were the host for the night joined by Khanyi Mbau and Somizi Mhlongo at the social media corner.

Khan Mbau and Somizi Mhlongo co-hosts

The biggest winner of the night was the Mabala Noise hip-hop artist Nasty C, who won all the awards he was nominated in – The Best New Artist, Best Male, Best Hip-hop ad The Song Of The Year Award.

Nasty C biggest winner of the night with four awards


Amanda Black who led the pack with five nominations won two awards, The Best R&B single – Serious and The Listener’s Choice Awards.

Amanda Black won two awards: R&B single and The Listener’s Choice Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award went to two of the most deserving living legend and music veterans Mam’ Letta Mbulu and Bab’ Caiphius Semenya and DJ Ms Pru won herself The Best Collaboration Award.

Ms Pru – Best Collaboration

Here is a full list of all the winners:

Best New Artist
Nasty C: Bad Hair Extensions

Best Compilation Album
DJ Qness: Essential Selections

Best Collaboration
Ms Pru: Ameni

Best Urban Dance Album
Henry Philemon: Man of Definition

Best Urban Gospel Album
Dr Tumi: Love & Grace

Best Produced Album
Sjava: Isina Suva

Best Music Video
Du Boiz: Dope Dreams

Best R&B Single
Amanda Black: Separate

Best African Pop Album
Musa: Mr Serious

Best Dance Album
Mobi Dixon: Live The Music

Best Styled Artist or Group

Best Female Album
Kelly Khumalo: My Truth

Best Male Album
Nasty C: Bad Hair Extensions

Best Kwaito Single
L’Vovo: Amatin Tin

Best Hip Hop Album
Nasty C: Bad Hair Extensions

Best Duo/Group Album
Durban’s Finest: Reloaded

Best Remix
Prince Kaybee: Don’t Give Up

Best Hit Single
Riky Rick: Sidlukotini

One Africa Award
Vee Mampeezy: I Do

Listeners Choice Award
Amanda Black

Song of the Year
Nasty C

The Lifetime Achievement Award: Letta Mbulu and Caiphius Semenya.

The winners walk away with R100.000 each. Congratulations to everyone!!!

Photo Cred: Twitter and Instagram.

-Fifth Street.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: