The Metro FM awards: nomination list awards

All roads lead to Durban, it’s that time of the year when the 2017 Metro FM awards #mma16 are upon us, this is the 16th edition of one of the biggest music awards in South Africa, hosted by one of the biggest commercial stations in the land. The awards will be held at the Inkosi Luthuli Convention Centre (ICC) in Durban on the 25th of February 2017 and broadcasted live on SABC 1.

In case you are not clued up on who is nominated check the list below:


African Pop Album: Musa- Mr Serious, Amanda Black- Amazulu, Vusi Nova- Naninina, Soul Kulture- Ngeliny’langa, Sjava – Isina Muva

Best Collaboration: Ms Pru – Ameni, Bucie – Rejoice, DJ Speesta – Mayo, Kwesta – Mayibabo

Compilation Album: DJ Tokzen – Nnthi’s Essential Selections 7, DJ Qness – Essential Selections, DJ Fresh

Dance Album: Babes Wodumo- Dr Malinga Mobi Dixon Mpumi DJ Merlon

Female Album: Amanda Black, Babes, Wodumo, Kelly Khumalo, Lebo Sekgobela, Brenda Mntambo

Amanda Black: leads on the nomination list with five nominations

Group Album: Jeziel Brothers, The Soil, Soul Kulture, Durbans Finest, Encore

Hit Single: Citi Lyts – Vura, Riky Rick – Sidlukotini, AKA – One Time, Ms Pru -Ameni, DJ Speedsta – Mayo

Hip Hop: Kwesta, A Reece, Anatii, Nasty C, DJ Slique

Nasty C has four nominations

Kwaito: Mshoza – Abantu Bam, L’vovo – Amatin tin, Vetkoek and Mahoota – Sohamba ngo7, Sosha – Good Times

Male Album: Nasty C – Bad Hair extensions, Kwesta – Dakar 2, Sjava – Isina Muva, Mobi Dixon- Live the Music, A Reece – Paradise

Kwesta: nominated four times

Music Video: Duboiz – Dope Dream, Benchmarq- All on Me, Khuli Chana – One Source, Mafikizolo- Kucheza, Anatii – Jump

New Artist :Babes Wodumo, Nasty C, Amanda Black, Sjava, Soul Kulture

Urban Gospel Albums: Dr Tumi – Love & Grace, Lebo Sekgobela – Restored, Joyous Celebration – Joyous 20, We will Worship – Mmuso, Khaya Mthethwa- The Dawn

Lebo Sekgobela nominated for the best Urban Gospel Album

R&B Single : Amanda Black, Floda, Charlie Mindgames, Zonke, Joocy

Remixes: DJ Ganyani – Talk to me, Prince Kaybee – Don’t Give Up, Thee Legacy – Wena, Wedwa Bob”Ezy – Close To You, Thee Lagacy – Sthandwa Sami

One Africa Award: Tekno, Vee Mampeezy, Tiwa Savage, Kommanda Obbs, Patoranking

Song of the Year: Babes Wodumo – Wololo Musa ft Robbie Malinga – Mthande Kwesta – Ngudu Amanda Black – Amazulu Dr Malinga – Akulaleki Durban’s Finest ft Professor- Unsindo King Monada – Ska Bhora Moreki Lebo Sekhobela – Lion of Juda Black Motion – Imani

Babes Wodumo nominated four times also in the song of the year category and newcomer.

All the best to the 2017 Metro FM Awards nominees.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: