It’s time for Adira

Adira Afrika is the new gospel sensation who has just released her single Arise featuring internationally acclaimed Apostle Dr. Pearl Kupe from her debut album Wells of Worship.


Born Audrey Anthea Fisher, the songstress grew up in Eldorado Park – Johannesburg, and was raised by her parents Selby and Catherine Fisher alongside her two siblings Gerald and Leazel Fisher.


Like most musicians, her love for music dates back to her childhood influenced by her father who’d frequently play the sound of R&B and Gospel music and she enjoyed singing along discovering that she can actually sing. She participated in a school choir during her primary schooling days. It was during rehearsals for a church youth event when she realized that her singing had something extra when she had the room in silent and receiving positive response from her singing.

Adira continued sharpening her talents as she sang in various choirs and the church Psalmedy Team, here, that’s were she discovered her love for praise and worship music and loved leading God’s people into His Presence. She then expanded her singing career and ventured into song writing, obviously wanting to write for other artists thus sharing her God given talent.

In 2008/09 one of her Bishops spoke over her life and declared that she’ll release her own music. However, life was not all so rosy, Adira struggled with low self-esteem she states that this was her biggest hindrance amongst other things and because of this, her career was delayed. Fast-forward to 2016 she started working on her debut album Wells of Worship and released her first single, February 2017.

Speaking about her new single, Arise, which is anointed and powerful – “I am proud of my single. It is the start of a dream come true. A testimony that God is faithful and He doesn’t lie.” The single envelops a unique style of African worship and has been doing well in various radio stations, Rainbow FM and Ikwekwezi FM. You can catch the video on Youtube and download it on iTunes and Google Play.


The singer’s intentions are to lift Africa’s worship music to greater heights and contribute positively towards gospel music in Africa and the rest of the world. She is inspired by various artists the likes of Ntokozo Mbambo, Neville D, Keke Phofolo, the late Sifiso Ncwane to mention a few, “my dream is to join this army of worshippers in Africa in lifting the name of Jesus high and letting the world smell the fragrance of our African worship” she continues to say “I strongly believe that it is time for Africa to arise and the world to sit up and drink from our African Wells of Worship to our Lord Jesus”

It is time for Africa to Arise!!!


16th Metro FM Awards

Metro FM’s Amon Mokoena and Pearl Modiadie, hosted the 16th Metro FM Awards.

The star-studded 2017 Metro FM awards were held in the Inkosi Luthuli Convention Centre on Saturday night in Durban. The ever so gorgeous Pearl Modiadie alongside her radio co-host Amon Mokeana were the host for the night joined by Khanyi Mbau and Somizi Mhlongo at the social media corner.

Khan Mbau and Somizi Mhlongo co-hosts

The biggest winner of the night was the Mabala Noise hip-hop artist Nasty C, who won all the awards he was nominated in – The Best New Artist, Best Male, Best Hip-hop ad The Song Of The Year Award.

Nasty C biggest winner of the night with four awards


Amanda Black who led the pack with five nominations won two awards, The Best R&B single – Serious and The Listener’s Choice Awards.

Amanda Black won two awards: R&B single and The Listener’s Choice Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award went to two of the most deserving living legend and music veterans Mam’ Letta Mbulu and Bab’ Caiphius Semenya and DJ Ms Pru won herself The Best Collaboration Award.

Ms Pru – Best Collaboration

Here is a full list of all the winners:

Best New Artist
Nasty C: Bad Hair Extensions

Best Compilation Album
DJ Qness: Essential Selections

Best Collaboration
Ms Pru: Ameni

Best Urban Dance Album
Henry Philemon: Man of Definition

Best Urban Gospel Album
Dr Tumi: Love & Grace

Best Produced Album
Sjava: Isina Suva

Best Music Video
Du Boiz: Dope Dreams

Best R&B Single
Amanda Black: Separate

Best African Pop Album
Musa: Mr Serious

Best Dance Album
Mobi Dixon: Live The Music

Best Styled Artist or Group

Best Female Album
Kelly Khumalo: My Truth

Best Male Album
Nasty C: Bad Hair Extensions

Best Kwaito Single
L’Vovo: Amatin Tin

Best Hip Hop Album
Nasty C: Bad Hair Extensions

Best Duo/Group Album
Durban’s Finest: Reloaded

Best Remix
Prince Kaybee: Don’t Give Up

Best Hit Single
Riky Rick: Sidlukotini

One Africa Award
Vee Mampeezy: I Do

Listeners Choice Award
Amanda Black

Song of the Year
Nasty C

The Lifetime Achievement Award: Letta Mbulu and Caiphius Semenya.

The winners walk away with R100.000 each. Congratulations to everyone!!!

Photo Cred: Twitter and Instagram.

-Fifth Street.

The Metro FM awards: nomination list awards

All roads lead to Durban, it’s that time of the year when the 2017 Metro FM awards #mma16 are upon us, this is the 16th edition of one of the biggest music awards in South Africa, hosted by one of the biggest commercial stations in the land. The awards will be held at the Inkosi Luthuli Convention Centre (ICC) in Durban on the 25th of February 2017 and broadcasted live on SABC 1.

In case you are not clued up on who is nominated check the list below:


African Pop Album: Musa- Mr Serious, Amanda Black- Amazulu, Vusi Nova- Naninina, Soul Kulture- Ngeliny’langa, Sjava – Isina Muva

Best Collaboration: Ms Pru – Ameni, Bucie – Rejoice, DJ Speesta – Mayo, Kwesta – Mayibabo

Compilation Album: DJ Tokzen – Nnthi’s Essential Selections 7, DJ Qness – Essential Selections, DJ Fresh

Dance Album: Babes Wodumo- Dr Malinga Mobi Dixon Mpumi DJ Merlon

Female Album: Amanda Black, Babes, Wodumo, Kelly Khumalo, Lebo Sekgobela, Brenda Mntambo

Amanda Black: leads on the nomination list with five nominations

Group Album: Jeziel Brothers, The Soil, Soul Kulture, Durbans Finest, Encore

Hit Single: Citi Lyts – Vura, Riky Rick – Sidlukotini, AKA – One Time, Ms Pru -Ameni, DJ Speedsta – Mayo

Hip Hop: Kwesta, A Reece, Anatii, Nasty C, DJ Slique

Nasty C has four nominations

Kwaito: Mshoza – Abantu Bam, L’vovo – Amatin tin, Vetkoek and Mahoota – Sohamba ngo7, Sosha – Good Times

Male Album: Nasty C – Bad Hair extensions, Kwesta – Dakar 2, Sjava – Isina Muva, Mobi Dixon- Live the Music, A Reece – Paradise

Kwesta: nominated four times

Music Video: Duboiz – Dope Dream, Benchmarq- All on Me, Khuli Chana – One Source, Mafikizolo- Kucheza, Anatii – Jump

New Artist :Babes Wodumo, Nasty C, Amanda Black, Sjava, Soul Kulture

Urban Gospel Albums: Dr Tumi – Love & Grace, Lebo Sekgobela – Restored, Joyous Celebration – Joyous 20, We will Worship – Mmuso, Khaya Mthethwa- The Dawn

Lebo Sekgobela nominated for the best Urban Gospel Album

R&B Single : Amanda Black, Floda, Charlie Mindgames, Zonke, Joocy

Remixes: DJ Ganyani – Talk to me, Prince Kaybee – Don’t Give Up, Thee Legacy – Wena, Wedwa Bob”Ezy – Close To You, Thee Lagacy – Sthandwa Sami

One Africa Award: Tekno, Vee Mampeezy, Tiwa Savage, Kommanda Obbs, Patoranking

Song of the Year: Babes Wodumo – Wololo Musa ft Robbie Malinga – Mthande Kwesta – Ngudu Amanda Black – Amazulu Dr Malinga – Akulaleki Durban’s Finest ft Professor- Unsindo King Monada – Ska Bhora Moreki Lebo Sekhobela – Lion of Juda Black Motion – Imani

Babes Wodumo nominated four times also in the song of the year category and newcomer.

All the best to the 2017 Metro FM Awards nominees.


Create a free website or blog at

Up ↑